Vanguard Award

Submissions for 2019 are closed.

2019 Vanguard Award

Vanguard Award

The Vanguard Awards have been instituted to recognize two outstanding ILTS members who are age 42 or younger. These awards of $1,500 each (one each for a clinical and basic science paper) will be awarded for best papers published in any peer-reviewed journal from January 2018 through December 2018.

Applicant Requirements:

  • Must be an ILTS member 42 years old or younger
  • Must be first or last author of paper
  • Paper published in any peer-reviewd journal, must have a Pubmed citation and not be in press
  • To be considered, candidate must upload their manuscript through the ILTS website 
  • Must attend the ILTS 2019 Annual Congress to accept the award (complimentary registration)
  • Previous winners are not eligible

Awardees receive:

Cash prize- $1,500 USD

Complimentary registration to the ILTS 2019 Annual Congress


  • Submission are closed for 2019

Past Recipients
2018: Karim Halazun, MD; Kazunari Sasaki, MD; Nicolas Goldaracena, MD
2017: Guangxiang Gu, MD; Gonzalo Sapisochin, MD
2016: Cheng-Maw Ho, MD; Prashant Bhangui, MDDS, MS; Shinichiro Yokota, MD, PhD
2015: Alina Allen, MD; Christian Toso, MD, PhD
2014: Alessandro Vitale, MD, PhD; Osamu Yoshida, MD, PhD
2013: Julie K. Heimbach, MD; Haofeng Ji, MD, MS
2012: Armin Goralczyk, MD; Naohisa Kuriyama, MD, PhD
2011: Jennifer C. Lai, MD; Sonali Joshi, MBBS
2010: Jason Y. Rhee, PhD; Koji Hashimoto, MD
2009: Constantino Fondevila, MD, PhD