State-of-the-Art Lecture – The Evolution of Liver Transplantation

Join the first State-of-the-Art Lecture webinar! Sheung Tat Fan and Ronald Busuttil will share their insights on the "Evolution of Liver Transplantation".


Live Webinar:

State-of-the-Art Lecture: The Evolution of Liver Transplantation


Available on demand: ILTS Education Page


The webinar series “State-of-the-Art Lectures” by the International Liver Transplantation Society will showcase the evolution of liver transplantation. The idea is to capture the ideas and experiences of experts in the realm of liver transplantation and share them with the LT community.

World-renowned experts in the field of liver transplantation (including liver transplant surgery, hepatology, anesthesia and critical care, liver transplant immunology, infectious disease, etc.) share experiences and knowledge in their practice. The webinars provide the most up-to-date knowledge in the advances of liver transplantation. The State-of-the-Art webinars will also showcase past experiences of giants in the field of liver transplantation to learn from their exciting journeys.

The webinars are organized by the ILTS Education & Scholarship Committee.


  • Welcome Message by Claus Niemann
  • Evolution of technique of Living donor liver transplantation (Sheung Tat Fan)
  • Evolution of liver transplantation at UCLA over the last 36 years (Ronald Busuttil)
  • Closing Remarks (Marina Berenguer)




Claus Niemann is the current President of ILTS. He has consulted for several governments and countries looking to establish transplantation programs. Dr. Niemann has also been the Principal Investigator on several federally funded studies, including experimental and clinical research in organ protection during transplantation.

Sheung Tat Fan is the Director of the Liver Surgery Centre, Department of Surgery at Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital, and Emeritus Professor of the Department of Surgery, The University of Hong Kong. Professor Fan has extensively studied on hepatocellular carcinoma, hepatitis B, cirrhosis, intrahepatic stones, acute biliary pancreatitis, and liver transplantation. He performed Hong Kong’s first successful liver transplant and leads the most successful liver transplant program in China and Southeast Asia. In 1996, he innovated the adult-to-adult living-related liver transplantation using a right lobe graft. The operation is now widely adopted and is regarded as a major breakthrough in the history of liver transplantation.

Ronald W. Busuttil is the Dumont Professor of Transplantation Surgery and Chief of the Division of Liver and Pancreas Transplant in the Department of Surgery at the UCLA School of Medicine. Dr. Busuttil has performed over 2,000 liver transplants. He has demonstrated a life-long commitment to the care of desperately ill patients, the training of medical students, residents, and surgical fellows, and to the scientific advancement in the field of transplantation surgery. Furthermore, Dr. Busuttil’s training program in liver transplantation is currently recognized as the foremost in the world.

Marina Berenguer is a Consultant Hepatologist and Professor of Medicine at La Fe University Hospital, Valencia. She is well recognized for her important contributions to the field of post-transplantation HCV liver disease.  Marina Berenguer is the President-Elect 2020-2021 of ILTS.




John P. Roberts is a transplant surgeon and professor of surgery in the Division of Transplant Surgery at the University of California, San Francisco. He has devoted his career to the UCSF Transplant Service, one of the largest and most highly regarded programs of its kind in the country, encompassing kidney, liver, and pancreas transplants. John Roberts is the Secretary of ILTS.
Roberto Hernandez-Alejandro is the Chief of the Division of Transplantation at the University of Rochester as well as Professor of Surgery. Under his leadership, URMC successfully restarted their live donor liver transplant program to further expand the donor options available to patients in the region.

Roberto Hernandez-Alejandro is the chair of the ILTS Education Committee.


Event Date


Visit Event Website