Basic Science Awards

(Mid- or Senior Career)


  • Basic Science Investigator Award (Mid-Career)
  • Basic Science Established Investigator Award (Senior Career)

The Basic Science Investigator and Basic Science Established Investigator Awards recognize outstanding ILTS members for their academic contribution to basic science research. Once a candidate has been nominated, they will receive a link to fill out their online application. Applications are reviewed annually by the ILTS Basic & Translational Research Committee under oversight of the ILTS Awards Committee. The reviewers distinguish mid-career from senior-career candidates based on their submissions.



  • Nominations must be submitted through the ILTS website
  • At least one nomination from another ILTS member is required to apply
  • Both nominator and candidate must be ILTS members in good standing
  • Once nominated, candidates must upload their application online through a link provided by the ILTS Secretariat
  • Winners of the ILTS Society Awards (not based on abstracts) from the previous three years are not eligible
  • Vice-chairs and chairs of the Basic & Translational Research Committee are not eligible during their term of office


Application formatting

The completed application must include:

  • a standardized CV including the main contributions relevant to the award: e.g, publications, professional society involvement, community projects involvement
  • a candidate statement, reflecting previous contributions to the field of basic science research and academic career plan if known (e.g., planned research focus and mentorship plan)


Awardee receives

  • Complimentary registration to the ILTS Annual Congress of the year
  • Complimentary ticket to the Closing Reception of the ILTS Annual Congress of the year


Selection process

  • HOW?
    • Online nominations & applications
  • WHEN?
    • step 1: Nominations can be submitted from November 20, 2023, to January 24, 2024. (NOTE! Deadline extended)
    • step 2: Application window closes January 28, 2024
    • Announcement of winners: March, 2024
  • WHERE?
    • You are in the right place! The nomination form will be available below from November 15. Candidates will receive a link via email to submit an online application once they have been nominated.


See list of awardees