REAL Advancing in Liver Transplantation Award

(Mid- or Senior Career)

(Mid- or Senior Career)

The REAL Advancing in Liver Transplantation Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the advance of liver transplantation education in all parts of the world.

Applications are reviewed annually by the ILTS Education and Scholarship Committee, with consideration given to the ILTS goals of promoting diverse regional and specialization representation.



  • Nominations must be submitted through the ILTS website
  • At least one nomination from another ILTS member is required to apply
  • Both nominator and candidate must be ILTS members in good standing
  • Once nominated, candidates must upload their application online through a link provided by the ILTS Secretariat
  • Winners of the ILTS Society Awards (not based on abstracts) from the previous three years are not eligible
  • Vice-chairs and chairs of the Education and Scholarship Committee are not eligible during their term of office


Application formatting

The completed application must include:

  • a standardized CV including the main contributions relevant for the award: eg, publications, professional society involvement, community projects involvement
  • a candidate statement, reflecting previous contributions to the ILTS Regional Expansion of Advanced Learning Program (REAL), or to the advance of liver transplantation education worldwide


Awardee receives

  • Complimentary registration to the ILTS Annual Congress of the year
  • Complimentary ticket to the Closing Reception of the ILTS Annual Congress of the year
  • 1-year ILTS membership


Selection process

  • HOW?
    • Online nominations & applications
  • WHEN?
    • step 1: Nominations can be submitted from November 20, 2023, to January 24, 2024. (NOTE! Deadline extended)
    • step 2: Application window closes January 28, 2024
    • Announcement of winners: March, 2024
  • WHERE?
    • You are in the right place! The nomination form will be available below from November 15. Candidates will receive a link via email to submit an online application once they have been nominated.


See list of awardees