Education & Scholarship

The Education & Scholarship Committee promotes the educational mission of ILTS and aims to support talented liver transplant professionals from around the world by awarding prestigious scholarships.

Key aims:

  1. To promote education, communication and fellowship in all disciplines involved in liver transplantation worldwide through scientific meetings, mentorship, and digital resources.
  2. To raise standards of clinical care and improve outcomes.
  3. To promote the ILTS educational mission by awarding scholarships to member applicants.
  4. To obtain feedback from members on educational issues and to communicate this to ILTS Council.

 Read the Committee Terms of Reference

Some Committee Activities


The Regional Expansion Advanced Learning (REAL) project is an initiative launched in 2020 by the ILTS Education Committee to bring educational activities to healthcare professionals targeting the specific needs of their regions. The REAL webinar series was crafted based on community input to address the needs of liver transplant centres and future centres in the Latin American, Southeast Asian, African, Middle-Eastern regions and Indian subcontinent.

Members: Juan Pablo Arab, Prashant Bhangui, Alfred Kow Wei Chieh, Shekar Kubal, Ashish Malik

→ Read more about the ILTS REAL project

→ Read more about the REAL Advancing in Liver Transplantation Award

ILTS State Of The Art Lectures

State Of The Art (SOTA) lectures gather insights and experiences from inspirational leaders in the liver transplant world.

→ Read more about the State Of The Art Lectures

ILTS Expertise-Exchange Program in Advanced Research Techniques 

E²=ART is a program facilitating exchange between early-career researchers and international centers, expanding transplant research networks, and providing opportunities for trainees to receive training in specific research techniques.

Read more about the E²=ART program

ILTS External Partnership

The ILTS External Partnership sub-group fosters collaborations with organizations and federations from all disciplines involved in liver transplantation worldwide through scientific meetings, mentorship, and digital resource development. It contributes to programs such as the annual transplant course at AASLD, the annual Perioperative Care in Liver Transplant course at the American Society of Anesthesiologists meeting and various single-topic symposia, and consensus conferences.

Members: Prasun K Jalal, Nazia Selzner, Manhal Izzy, Peter Abt, Irene Kim

Intra ILTS Partnership

The Intra ILTS Partnership sub-group promotes collaborations between ILTS SIGs and committees around developing educational content, guidelines, research projects, and fellowship across all disciplines involved in liver transplantation.

Members: Bijan Eghtesad, Pal-Dag Line, Gianni Biancofiore, Claire Francoz, Zhenhua Hu

Committee Members:

  • Shekar Kubal, MD Past Chair {2024} Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis, IN, USA
  • Juan Pablo Arab, MD Chair {2024} Pontificia Universidad Catolica De Chile Santiago, Santiago, Chile
  • Peter Abt, MD Vice Chair {2024} Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Bijan Eghtesad, MD Affiliated Councilor, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, OH, USA
  • Ahmed Elsabbagh, MD, MS, MRCS, PhD {2026} Gastroenterology Surgery and Liver Transplantation Center, Mansoura University, Egypt
  • Claire Francoz, MD, PhD {2024} Hopital Beaujon, Clichy, France
  • Zita Galvin,  MB BCh (BAO), MRCPI, BSc(Pharm) {2026} St. Vincent’s University Hospital, Dublin, Ireland
  • Ryutaro Hirose, MD {2026} University of California, San Francisco, USA
  • Zhenhua Hu {2024} First Affiliated Hospital of Zhejiang University Medical Center, Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China
  • Prasun K Jalal {2025} Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, USA
  • Irene Kim {2025} Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles, USA
  • Varvara Kirchner, MD {2026} Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA
  • Ashish Malik {2025} Indraprastha Apollo Hospital, Delhi, India
  • Rajesh Rajalingam, Post Doctoral Fellowship in Liver Transplantation;M.Ch;M.S  {2026} Dr Rela Institute and Medical Centre, Chennai, India
  • Cynthia Tsien, MDCM, MPH {2026} University Health Network, Toronto, Canada
  • Georgios Tsoulfas, MD, PhD {2026} Aristotle University School of Medicine, Thessaloniki, Greece

Trainee Members

Pranit Chotai, MD {2025} The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, Columbus, Ohio, USA

*Committee terms end at Annual Congress in the year shown in brackets

Committee Members testimonies