This committee's mission is to promote the participation of younger members of the liver transplant community in all ILTS activities, and to guide the society in responding to their educational and professional needs.

Current Members

Note new chair Prashant Bhangui confirmed by Council 17 February 2018

Prashant Bhangui, MBBS, MS Chair {2020} Medanta – The Medicity, Gurgaon, India

Claus Niemann, MDAffiliated Councilor {2019} University of California, San Francisco, CA

Mamatha Bhat, MD {2019} Toronto General Hospital, Toronto, Canada

Ryan Chadha, MD {2021} Mayo Clinic Florida, Jacksonville, FL

Albert Chan, MD {2020} The University of Hong Kong, Hong-Kong

Eleonora de Martin, MD {2021} Hopital Paul Brousse, Villejuif, France

Amelia Judith Hessheimer, MD {2021} Hospital Clinic, University of Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain

Gokhan Kabacam, MD {2021} Güven Hospital, Ankara, Turkey

Marit Kalisvaart, MD {2021} Erasmus MC University Medical Center Rotterdam, Rotterdam, Netherlands

Varvara Kirchner {2021} University of Minnesota Medical Center, Fairview, Minneapolis, MN

Jeremy Rajanayagam, MD {2019} Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne, Australia

Gonzalo Sapisochin, MD {2021} Toronto General Hospital, Toronta, Canada

Irene Scalera, MD {2019} The Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham, UK

*Committee terms end at annual congress in year shown in brackets

Key aims:

To promote the engagement of younger liver transplant professionals and trainees in all ILTS activities, and to advocate on their behalf.

Key tasks and dates:

  1. Meet at annual congress (May-July) to review recent activities and member feedback, discuss council input from the most recent council meeting, and develop an agenda for the following year
  2. Ascertain the educational and professional needs of younger members through informal discussion and the annual member survey (September), and work with the ILTS leadership to address these needs
  3. Organize two multidisciplinary Vanguard sessions at the annual congress (September- October)
  4. Host a Vanguard Reception at the annual congress
  5. Highlight younger members’ contributions by selection of the best oral and poster presentations at the annual congress (Vanguard awards)
  6. Review online applications for committee membership annually (October-January) and nominate replacements for members expiring in that year. Process as per ILTS Committees Policy, to be completed four weeks before winter council meeting
  7. Report twice yearly to ILTS Council: January-February written report for winter council meeting agenda book, May-June written report for annual congress council meeting agenda book and chair to present in person.

Key performance metrics:

  1. Satisfactory reports to iLTS Council
  2. Participant numbers and feedback re congress events organized by the committee

Committee Terms of Reference  I  Committee Member Bios